HELLO WORLD

Hello world seems appropriate so “HELLO WORLD!!”.

I have wanted to write a blog for some time now but haven’t had the guts to do it until now. The first entry, your introduction, all feels like so much pressure. What do I say? How do I narrow down all the things I want to write about and share? How much do I want to share? I guess time will tell but right now I’ll start with my story on why I wanted to write a blog in the first place.Image

     Well, it all started when I was a little girl…haha…no really. I have always written in a journal, a diary, a dream journal, an agenda, a scrapbook. I’m talking VOLUMES. Years. Decades. It all started in kindergarten when we got our first journal. We got to draw pictures too and I loved it. And every graduation when we took all of our work home, I only kept my journal. Then in grade 6 (I can’t be sure but I’ll check…I can do that) I started my first diary, which is way more personal then a journal kept at school. Mom had shown me hers that she had as a teen, it was a blue, 5 year one that all kinds of boys numbers in it and some crazy times. I cherished it and I wanted one the same. I got a red one in grade 9. At around the age of 6 or 7 I started collecting things and keeping scrapbooks. I still make scrapbooks for the kids when I have time (Well, I did for the first kid and thought about it a lot for the other 2. Does that count?). I have always wanted to write a book or 2 or 3 and I have a few ideas for a screenplay. I think I actually have some pretty cool ideas. I’d read my book and go see my movie. But that dream can wait for a while. Right now I’d be really happy if anyone reads this blog.

   My grandmothers were pretty crafty ladies, making quilts, needlepoint and knitting. One of my earliest crafting memories is making tiny pillows at my grandmother’s house and feeling so privileged to be able to pick out buttons from her button jar. At the age of 7 I watched my father build his house and I remember how fascinating it was to witness. We had a picnic table in the dining room with an upside down wicker basket lampshade and my love of the thrift began.

  I feel like a blog is the natural progression of the journal/diary/scrapbook/crafting of the times. Also it will keep me accountable for all the projects and thoughts I want to do and share with you. So now that you know about my youth and how I got here, I guess I should introduce myself. My name is Karen, I’m a 37  year old mother of 3 beautiful boys Oliver 10, Carson 4 and Jaxson 1. I have a very busy home full of love, laughter, dirty words and tears. I am girlfriend and fiancée to a very gorgeous, sweet and silly man Carl. We live in our dream home just outside of a small town in Nova Scotia, Canada eh. I work very part time cooking and baking in a very unique bakery/café and full time to my family.

Image

   I enjoy decorating, especially of the free kind. One of my main interests right now is turning trash I find on the side of the road, at a yard sale or flea market and turn it into treasure .I want to share all of my before and afters with you. My style is eclectic .I love vintage, farmhouse, natural and industrial chic all mixed together into what I call home. I enjoy gardening, cooking, crafts, DYI, photography, frugal living, reading, fashion, health, current events and pop culture. I thoroughly enjoy Pinterest and I invite you to check out my boards at http://pinterest.com/workinit/.

   I am going to blog about it all, along with all the crazy antics and sweet times that go on in my life. I hope you will join me, I’m so happy you stopped by.

Peace,

             Karen

 A few of my favourite quotes:

If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude. -Maya Angelou

“I would rather be hated for who I am than loved for who I am not.” -Kurt Cobain

Don’t go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first. ~Mark Twain

I’m selfish, impatient, and a little insecure. I make mistakes. I’m out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.” Marilyn Monroe

Sanity and happiness are an impossible combination.- Mark Twain

Image

10 thoughts on “HELLO WORLD

  1. I feel lucky enough to be witness to ( and subject of ?!) the scrapbooks and collections you mention….. so I am thrilled to see you have started a blog and can’t wait to watch it unfold. I am hugely proud of you for taking the plunge with it and I have immense faith in you that it will be every bit as fabulous as YOU. xoxo love you KP.

Leave a Reply

